President of India, Ram Nath Kovind on Monday conferred the prestigious Padma awards at the Rashtrapati Bhavan to 47 prominent personalities, including nine from the sports.

The awards are given in 3 various categories which include Padma Vibhushan- for exceptional and distinguished service of higher order in a particular field, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of higher order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in a specific field.

Sportspersons including the champion wrestler, Bajrang  Punia, Kabaddi captain Ajay Thakur, football captain Sunil Chhetri, veteran table-tennis players Sharath Kamal, cricketer Gautam Gambir, basketball player Prashanti Singh, archer Bombayla Devi Laishram and chess grandmaster Harika Dronavalli were honored with Padma Shri awards by the President.

Punia had a great 2018 and bagged golds at the commonwealth games and the Asian games and has won 4 golds and silver in the last five tournaments. Sharath Kamal who leads India’s charge in men’s table-tennis also had a rewarding 2018 and won as many as 4 medals at the 2018 commonwealth games including a historic gold in the men’s team event.

Indian Kabaddi caption Ajay Thakur was also honored for his elite series to the game as India won the Kabaddi Masters tournament in Dubai last year under his efficient leadership.

Veteran mountaineer Bachendri Pal has been bestowed with the honor of Padma Bhushan for her remarkable achievements.