The Indian Premier League auctions for the 2020 season is scheduled to take place on December 19th in Kolkata.  As many as 971 players had registered themselves which included 713 Indian and 258 overseas players. The franchises had been given time to submit their choices out of which now only 332 have been shortlisted. The list includes 186 Indian players, 143 overseas players and 3 players from Associate Nations.

With INR 2 crore as the highest reserve price, seven overseas players – Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Dale Steyn & Angelo Mathews have opted to be slotted in the highest bracket. Robin Uthappa is the only Indian player in the Auction list with a base price of INR 1.5 crore. Other Indian stars, Piyush Chawla, Yusuf Pathan & Jaydev Unadkat have set their base price at INR 1 crore. Australians have generated the most interest amongst the franchises with 35 of their players shortlisted. They are followed by 23 from South Africa and 22 from England. West Indies have 19 of their players shortlisted, while New Zealand has only 18. Of the Test-playing nations, Bangladesh (5), Afghanistan (7) and Sri Lanka (14) have found low interest, while none of the Zimbabwean players will be a part of the auction. Among the Under-19 players, who are set to represent India in the upcoming world cup, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Priyam Garg, Tilak Varma, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, and Sushant Mishra are also a part of the auction.

Players with top base prices

Rs 2 crore (USD 315,000 approx.): Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Dale Steyn & Angelo Mathews

Rs 1.5 Crore 1.5 crore (USD 235,000 approx.): Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Robin Uthappa, Chris Morris, Chris Woakes, Adam Zampa, Shaun Marsh, David Willey, Kane Richardson, and Kyle Abbott

Rs 1 Crore (USD 160,000 approx.): Aaron Finch, Sam Curran, Yusuf Pathan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Tom Banton, Alex Hales, Rilee Rossouw, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Piyush Chawla, Tim Southee, Martin Guptill, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Marcus Stoinis, Mustafizur Rehman, Tom Curran, Ashton Agar, Moises Henriques, D’Arcy Short, James Pattinson, Liam Plunkett, Thisara Perera

It’s going to get crazy once head auctioneer Hugh Edmeades starts the proceedings with his hammer. Few franchises will have to be very active if they are to make competitive squads compete in the tournament. The entire cricketing world’s eyes will be on Kolkata come 19th December.